day thirty one.

My mom and I made a fabulous dinner together.  But even better than the dinner was the time I got to spend with her.  With me moving away in just 5 months, I’m really starting to try not to take the special moments with my family for granted.  I mean, I’ve been away from them before.  I went to college three hours away and I only went home a few times a semester so I know what it’s like to be away from home for long periods of time.  But there’s something different about moving away for good.  That thought that I will never just “go home” whenever I feel like it.  I’ll have a new home in a different city.  And even though it’s only two hours away from my home town, it feels like a lot more when I think about the changes.  My bedroom will be transformed into the guest room, my parents will settle into a new routine that doesn’t involve children (although I’m sure that will be a nicer change for them than for me haha), and I will have a permanent change of address for the rest of my life.  It’s all a little disconcerting.

But!  Life goes on, and none of that was to say that I am not so excited to become the wife of a most wonderful man.

Now, onward to food and recipes?

I thought so.

The main entree was a butternut squash pasta sauce on spaghetti and the side was sautéed Swiss chard.  You can find the link to the sauce here.  And the recipe for the Swiss chard is at the end of this blog.  So check out the photos, decide “oh my gosh, I need  to try this!” and then go make it.  Like seriously.  Do it.  Your taste buds with thank you.

      

Can we take a minute to admire the fact that there is actually a pink vegetable?  I didn’t photoshop this, I promise it was naturally hot pink.  Pretty rad.

Say a quick hello to Phoenix, king of the beggar dogs.

 

Bon Apetit!

       

And now for the recipe for that green stuff you see above:

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan Cheese

Ingredients:

2 tbs butter

2 tbs olive oil

1 tbs minced garlic

1/2 small red onion, diced (might also want some tissues; you will cry, whether you want to or not.  True story.)

1 bunch Swiss chard, stems and center ribs cut out and chopped together, leaves coarsely chopped seperately.

(In case you don’t know what Swiss chard is, it’s basically like spinach.  You could probably substitute this recipe with spinach, but the Swiss chard is pretty fantastic.)

1/2 dry white wine (we used the Barefoot brand you see above.  It’s $6 at Target and works really well with the Swiss.)

1 tbs fresh lemon juice, or to taste

2 tbs freshly grated Parmesan cheese

salt to taste (optional)

Just a forewarning, kids may not love it if they’re not used to more “exotic” meals, and if you hate spinach then you may not love it either, but you really really should give it a try.  If for no other reason than the fact that this is one of the cheapest, fanciest homemade meals you can make.  We had 3 servings of everything, plus leftovers, all for a grand total of around $10.  Unless you buy everything all at once.  For example if you need to buy the cheese then it will cost you a wee bit extra but you won’t use an entire block of cheese in this one meal.  And if you enjoy a glass of wine you can use the bottle you used for the Swiss chard to go with your meal as well.  You get the point; this is a SUPER cheap, easy meal, and it’s super healthy as well. Can’t beat that!

Have a great night you lovely people, and have a tasty feast this weekend. :)

One thought on “day thirty one.

  1. What a great time we had together Em! We need to do this more often before you get married and then you will be really good at it for your new husband! (Actually you are a natural, so more for the mom/daughter time than the practice!)

Leave a Reply

