getting settled.

What a summer I’ve had already, and I’ve only been out of school for 11 days.  I traveled all the way to Missouri and back, and basically stopped everywhere in between.  I moved back home, am STILL unpacking the sickening amount of junk I have piled up over the last 3 years, and have begun the dreadful summer job of cleaning for my parents.  It’s amazing how fast it’s gone after looking back on all the posts about how close I was to graduation; even that seems so long ago now.

And God has blessed me.  Seriously.  After graduation, I started freaking out a bit about my financial situation.  I have to start paying off college debt in just a few short months and I’m only working about ten hours a week cleaning office buildings, so it hit me that I might not be able to spend my money on anything other than college payments if I don’t find another job.  But low and behold, my God provides.

I made money from graduation gifts.  That was pretty nice, but a little expected.  Then I decided to try to sell this cute chair I had just bought for $7 at a church sale (I had just decided it didn’t fit in with the rest of my furniture, adorable as it was.) and ended up selling it for $40.   I’m having a garage sale in about a week and a half and it turns out that all the build-up of college things I’ve collected are turning into quite an attractive-looking little sale, so hopefully I can make a good amount off of that.  And then I’ve got four different photo shoots coming up in the next 2 months.  Doesn’t sound like a lot, but three of them are weddings and those alone will pay for a good chunk of my upcoming bills.

Even though these are mostly just everyday ways that people make money, I know God is helping me out big time, cause he knows I’ve had a lot on my mind lately.  I feel like I’m in a season of so many changes right now.  I just graduated, my parents and I are in the process of tearing apart and re-doing our entire house, I’m planning a wedding, Matt started at his job at the church on Monday, and I’m preparing myself to move to a new city in just 9 1/2 months.  Eek!  So anyway, God must know that the financial stuff really should be the last thing on my list of to-do’s right now, so He’s working it out for me.  That’s how I’m choosing to look at it, at least.

Oh! I got a new computer, too, thanks to my amazing fiance.  It’s got all the Photoshop programs I could ever need, so now I can officially feel like a professional photographer.  I just have to learn to use the program first… ha.  I also figured it would be fun to write a new post on my new computer. :)

Alright, I feel like I’m rambling.  I promise my posts won’t be like this all summer, I’m just exhausted and don’t feel like being super creative right now so I’m settling for my simple, probably boring, plain old thoughts tonight.  I’ll be more creative soon, after I’m officially moved back in!

Leave a comment