an adventure in findlay

I’d always heard of the Findlay Market in downtown Cincinnati, but for the three years I’ve lived here, I haven’t gone once.  Well, until Sunday.  Matt and I decided to go so I could get some photos for my next Photography project at Xavier. (It’s a photojournalism project.)  Who would have thought that deep in a little section of the first outer layer of the city sits a quaint indoor/outdoor market, complete with fresh fruits, veggies, meat, handmade crafts, gelato, and live music.  Oh, the unique world I’ve been missing out on for three whole years!

It ended up being the perfect place for a project on historical sites of Cincinnati.  The bright reds, greens, and yellows and the Boho atmosphere were ideal for some good shots.  I probably took way too many photos; as Matt pointed out, I kept stopping in front of people so I could take all my pictures, and it’s going to be hard to choose 5 or 6 out of the 25 final shots I came up with, but I had so much fun I just couldn’t help myself!

So if you ever get the chance to go to, I highly suggest it.  It only takes about an hour to go through if you’re not planning on stopping to eat or shop, but if you’re looking for a fun afternoon date you could grab some fresh fruit, a couple drinks, and bring ’em over to one of the gorgeous Cincinnati parks.  Or you could do what Matt and I did and buy a couple New York strips from the Amish meat market inside, fire up the grill at home, and cozy up to a fancy dinner and a movie.  :)

2 thoughts on “an adventure in findlay

  1. Amazing photo’s Em! I passed these along to a professional photographer I worked with here in Orlando and he said the following
    “She has a great eye. Very photojournalistic style, I like the angles of the compositions. Love it!”

    Keep up the amazing work!

    Dad

Leave a Reply

