Ridiculous.

I’m learning something.

I am twenty years old, and I’m learning that no matter how old (or young) I am, I will never be too old (..or young) to take a chance on something that is ridiculously wonderful.

[ridiculously wonderful=something i really want to do but don’t know if it’s possible.]

I’ve gone through this past twenty-ish years believing that everything large-scale that I want to do is out my reach.  Here, let me give you an example of my common thought process:

  I like taking pictures.  I think I’m somewhat talented at taking pictures.  I’ve seen other people’s pictures.  Other people take some pretty amazing pictures.  Some of them are extremely successful in their business.  So, because there are other amazing photographers out there, I probably can’t be one of them, ever.

So through this Debby Downer Thought Process, I stay in my “safe” bubble and I take pictures when people ask me to, but I don’t do anything too crazy.  Hand out a business card to let people know who I am and what I do?  Are you out of your mind?!  Why yes, yes I am.  Because handing out business cards is exactly what I don’t do, and that’s what makes me out of my mind.  I mean, isn’t one of the first rules of business to be aggressive and get your name out there?  It doesn’t mean I can’t be humble about it.  What I should be telling myself right now is Emily, you’re an idiot. Go print a freaking pack of business cards and use the talents God has given you.  

I mean, that’s just it, isn’t it?  God gives us talents.  Gifts.  Like the cliche story: (Shortened version) When someone gives you a present, you don’t leave it unwrapped, sitting on the kitchen table.  You open the dang thing and you USE it.

I may not be the best photographer, but that doesn’t mean I’m bad at it.  I may not be an aggressive advertiser/saleswoman, but that doesn’t mean I can’t sell my work.  I may have no CLUE what I actually want to do with my life, but that doesn’t mean I’m not going to do something ridiculously wonderful.

So instead of going through my Debby Downer Thought Process, I’m trying to turn it around and tell myself this instead:

If you want to do something, don’t look at it and think “yea, right, like I’m good enough to actually try that . . .”

Do it.  

 

 

Leave a Reply

